New Rugby Africa Gold Cup Perpetual Trophy to be Unveiled at International Sports Press Association (AIPS) Congress in Brussels

The New Rugby Africa  Gold Cup perpetual trophy – a Rugby World Cup qualifier – will be unveiled during the International Sports Press Association (AIPS) Congress in Brussels on May 8, 2018.

The 2018 edition of the Rugby Africa Gold Cup (June – August 2018) will be played by the national teams of Namibia, Kenya, Uganda, Morocco, Zimbabwe and Tunisia.

The winners of the 2018 Rugby Africa Gold Cup will go to Rugby World Cup 2019 as Africa 1 and play New Zealand, South Africa, Italy and the Repechage Winner in Pool B.

Free Broadcast quality B-Roll footage, pre-recorded interviews, photos and sound bites will be available for download.

Founded in 1986, Rugby Africa , formerly known as the Confederation of African Rugby or CAR, is one of the six regional associations of World Rugby, the international body that manages rugby 15 and rugby sevens. Rugby Africa brings together African nations playing rugby 15s, rugby 7s for both men and women. Rugby Africa organizes the Rugby Africa Gold Cup, qualifying competition for the 2019 Rugby World Cup, and Africa Men’s and Women’s 7s, qualifying competitions for the 2020 Olympic Games as well as a range of other tournaments involving 20 countries in 15s rugby and more than 30 in Sevens. Rugby Africa has 38 members, including 22 members or associate members of World Rugby, 10 members or associate members of Rugby Africa and 16 new countries working with Rugby Africa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *